Instagram is a well-known social media platform that frequently tests out new features and updates. The app recently added a “Notes” feature that allows users to post thoughts in their direct message section for 24 hours with a 60-character limit that is only visible to followers.
How does the Notes feature work?
Instagram says its new “Notes” feature gives you a private space to share updates as brief text posts with specific people, who can then reply to them using Instagram messaging. One note can only be shared at a time, and if you frequently share more than one note, the previous one will be deleted automatically.
- Open the Instagram app on your phone.
- Go to the DM section.
- Tap on the Your Note option available at the top, featuring your profile picture.
- Tap on the Share what’s on your mind… and enter a note of up to 60 characters.
- Under the Share with tab, choose to share your note with your followers who follow you back or your close friends.
- Hit the Share button available in the top right.
For 24 hours, your note will be displayed at the top of the chat list to everyone. Your note can be deleted at any time by tapping it once and then choosing the Delete note option. A private conversation will start between you and the person who responds to your note.
The feature is now available to everyone, whereas it was previously only being tested with a small number of users.