32 C
Sunday, June 16, 2024

IPL 2023: Shubman Gill hits yet another century; leaves behind several cricket legends

Shubman Gill has scored his third century in the IPL 2023. The Gujarat Titans star has left several cricket legends.

During the Indian Premier League 2023, India’s up-and-coming sensation Shubman Gill, who plays for the Gujarat Titans, has been in incredible form. He has now reached the century mark for the third time this campaign. After scoring hundreds in the league round against Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore, he destroyed the batters for Mumbai Indians in the second qualifier.

In this innings, it took Gill 49 balls to reach his century milestone. Now, he is only the third player in the history of the Indian Premier League to score more than two century in a single season. Only Virat Kohli and Jos Buttler have been successful in doing this prior to him. Gill scored 129 runs throughout his innings, which included 7 fours and 10 sixes among the 60 balls he faced.
The Video Player is getting ready to play.

In addition to scoring 9 runs during this inning, Shubman Gill was also successful in claiming the Orange Cap. At the same time, his name has been given a score that is higher than 800, and the Orange Cap is getting close to being earned by this individual. There is not another player in his immediate vicinity who is participating in the playoffs.

Prior to it, Gill had scored 101 runs off of 58 balls against Sunrisers Hyderabad and 104 runs without being out off of 52 balls against RCB. In addition to that, he set a record by becoming the youngest player in IPL history to hit a century in the playoffs. During the same match, Gill reached the century mark, becoming him the eighth player in IPL playoff history to do so. Prior to him, Murali Vijay, Virender Sehwag, Jos Buttler, Wriddhiman Saha, Rajat Patidar, and Shane Watson had all accomplished this feat.

IPL season with the most hundreds scored.

Virat Kohli – 4 centuries (2016)
Jos Buttler will have played for four centuries (2022).
Three centuries (2023) are allotted to Shubman Gill.

IPL Playoffs: Fastest Century Ever Scored

Shubman Gill (GT) scored a century off 49 balls in the match against MI in 2023.
Rajat Patidar (RCB) scored a century off 49 balls in the match against LSG in 2022. Wriddiman Saha (PBKS) scored a century off 49 balls in the match against KKR in 2014.

Previously, the record for most century scored in a single IPL season was held by Chris Gayle (2011), Hashim Amla (2017), Shikhar Dhawan (2020), Shane Watson (2018), KL Rahul (2022), and Virat Kohli (2023). This record has now been broken by Virat Kohli. Had done However, at this point, Shubman Gill has abandoned all of them. If we are going to discuss different time periods throughout this season, then the 12th century should be brought up. Gill hit a total of three hundreds, while Virat Kohli scored a total of two centuries throughout their respective innings.


Related Articles

Latest Articles