27 C
Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Six key facts on freedom struggle as India celebrates Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav

On August 15 this year, India will commemorate its 75th anniversary of independence. Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav is a government of India program to celebrate and remember 75 years of independence, as well as the beautiful history of its people, culture, and achievements.

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav is dedicated to the people of India, who have not only been instrumental in bringing India this far in its evolutionary journey, but also have the power and potential to realize Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision of activating India 2.0, fuelled by the spirit of Aatmanirbhar Bharat.

On August 15, India will commemorate its 75th anniversary of independence. This year, the country is preparing for big celebrations with the theme ‘Nation First, Always First.’

On August 15, 1947, India earned freedom from nearly 200 years of British colonial control. It took enormous courage and sacrifice on the part of freedom fighters to achieve independence. Although the history of the Indian liberation fight is chronicled in history books, we sometimes forget the sacrifice and work it required to get this cherished freedom and begin to take it for granted.

Also, we don’t always know the important facts and trivia linked with our Independence Day, so here are six facts to help you learn more about our country.

1. The term India is derived from the Indus River, which gives witness to the magnificent Indus Valley Civilization that thrived between the river’s tributaries.

2. The Sepoy Mutiny, led by Mangal Pandey, launched India’s liberation war in 1857. . Rani Laxmi Bai of Jhansi,  Bahadur Shah Zafar, Tatya Tope, and Nana Sahib led the resistance against British soldiers in 1857.

3. In the early 1900s, Bal Gangadhar Tilak and JRD Tata founded the Bombay Swadeshi Co-op Stores Co. Ltd. to promote Swadeshi goods while boycotting foreign goods. The shop is currently known as the Bombay Store.

4. On August 15, 1947, at midnight, India attained freedom. Korea, Congo, Bahrain, and Liechtenstein also celebrate their independence on the same day as India.

5. On August 7, 1906, in Parsee Bagan Square in Kolkata, India’s then-national flag with three horizontal bands of red, yellow, and green was raised. Pingali Venkayya created the first version of our current national flag in 1921. The present national flag, with saffron, white, and green stripes and a 24-spoke Ashok Chakra, was officially adopted on July 22, 1947, and first flown on August 15, 1947.

6. The boundary between India and Pakistan was drawn by British barrister and Law Lord Cyril John Radcliffe.

Related Articles

Latest Articles