29 C
Friday, June 14, 2024

Special Rs. 75 coin to mark PM Modi’s inauguration of new Parliament bldg

PM Modi is due to open the new Parliament building. The event will marked by a special Rs. 75 coin that will feature the Lion Capital of the Ashoka Pillar.

The Ministry of Finance said on Thursday that a one-time-only commemorative coin with a face value of Rs. 75 will be issued to coincide with the opening of the new parliament building. On Sunday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is due to reveal the commemorative coin that will serve as an homage to India’s celebration of 75 years of independence. The coin will also serve as a reminder of the fact that India is now an independent nation.

On one side of the coin, the lion capital from the Ashoka Pillar will be shown, and the inscription “Satyamev Jayate” will be written underneath it. On the left side of the page, the word “Bharat” will be written in the Devanagari script, while on the right side, the term “India” will be printed in English.

Below the Lion Capital, the coin will also carry the symbol for the rupee and the denomination value of 75 inscribed in international numbers. An illustration of the parliamentary precinct will be shown on the reverse side of the coin. On the top peripheral, the words “Sansad Sankul” will be inscribed using the Devanagari script, while the words “Parliament Complex” will be written using the English language on the bottom periphery.

The coin will feature a circular design with a diameter of 44 millimeters and will have 200 serrations around the edges of its circumference. The alloy that will be used to create the 35-gram coin will have four components: half silver, forty percent copper, five percent nickel, and five percent zinc.

On Sunday, Prime Minister Modi will officially open the newly constructed parliament building. It is anticipated that up to 25 parties will participate in the ceremony; however, there are at least 20 opposition parties who have chosen to abstain from the event.

A number of political parties, including Congress, Aam Aadmi Party, Left, Trinamool, and Samajwadi Party, among others, have declared that they would not participate in the opening of the new building since, in their view, there is no use in doing so now that the “soul of democracy” has been removed.

The opposition parties have voiced their disagreement with Prime Minister Modi’s choice to open the new parliament building rather than President Droupadi Murmu.

Post a comment The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which is led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has launched a furious counterattack on the opposition by labelling the opposition’s plan to boycott the inauguration as a “blatant affront to the democratic ethos and constitutional values of our great nation.”


Related Articles

Latest Articles